Wedding Vibes

Depending on where you’re from and how you were raised, weddings can have very, very different tones. For example, growing up in Southern Indiana and attending weddings led me to believe that the common wedding traditions included…

-Fried chicken

-Open bars

-Country and Rock music 

And lots of DANCING.

On the other hand, I’ve been to a wedding in Memphis, Tennessee. The meal was fancy, the music was more pop, and there was no such thing as an open bar or dancing all night.

So, my wedding experiences have ranged from very rural to very urban in music. I asked an engaged Purdue student, who is currently planning her wedding, about some of her song choices for her wedding. Taylor is from the Indianapolis area, so I’m expecting her overall music genre to be more hip-hop based on her city location, but we’re about to find out together as I ask her questions regarding her song choices.

Q: What do you feel the most played genre/genres of music will be at your wedding? 

A: Our family and friends enjoy a mix of rock and country so I’m assuming that’s what will be playing.

Q: Do you plan on there being any hip-hop or rap played at your reception?

A: I don’t plan on playing any rap or hip-hop (unless Cha Cha Slide counts?) because most of the invited guests have the same music interests.

Q: So on a more personal level, what song did you pick for your father-daughter dance?

A: For father-daughter dance I chose the song “Don’t Want to Miss A Thing” by Aerosmith. I chose this song because of the message it sends about my father and I’s relationship.

Q: What message does it convey?

A: When listening to the lyrics of this song, it talks how he (the singer) wants to spend his life next to her and witness every moment together. I feel like that represents my dad’s support for me.

Q: How do you think he’ll respond to your song choice, and why? 

A: I know he’ll more than likely cry. He acts tough, but I’ve see him cry during Sarah McLaughlin commercials, plus I’m his only girl.

Q: What about your first dance with your husband, what song did you decide on and why?

A: We went to a Keith Urban concert and Fritz (my fiance) started to sing “Making Memories of Us,” badly I might I add, but it was romantic. We both love country music so the decision was easy.

Q: What about the wedding party? What song will they enter to at the reception?

A: I love the song “Uptown Funk” but we aren’t going to decide until the date gets closer. Who knows what funky beats will out next summer.

For those of you planning a wedding or helping to plan a wedding, here are some ideas for you. Thank you Taylor for sharing your wedding song selection with us and we hope it’s a hit.

Leave a Reply

