Apps and MORE apps: Which Music App is for you?

If you’re like me, you can’t leave the house without music, which means my phone (the magical little device that carries all of my music for me). Don’t even get me started on forgetting my earbuds, that’s just asking for a bad day. But I don’t just plug my earbuds into my phone and.. BAM! music. No, no. I have to decide on an app for the day, which can be a struggle.

If you have this struggle also, this post is for you. I would like to introduce you to my app list. Say hello.

(This won’t be in any particular order, you can decide for yourself what you like best. Also, Andriod vs. Apple may prohibit some apps from being used. Beware: the phone brand battle rages on. The first four apps can be free or upgraded, the last app will cost you.)

pandora

Pandora: One of my top used apps. Input a song or artist and Pandora compiles a playlist of similar songs and artists. Liking or disliking songs will alter the playlist, as will adding new artists or songs. Minimum commercials are key and unlimited playlists are great for every mood.

spotify

Spotify: It lets you create your own playlists or search for pre-made playlists or playlists friends have made. From sharing playlists to sending songs, Spotify is ready for you. As far as I’ve noticed, you have to make your playlists on a computer before you can listen to it on a mobile device.

songza

Songza: Oh Songza, how you have saved me. I must say, the workout playlists offered are wonderful. Songza is the app that lets you pick your current activity, your mood, and gives you about 6 genre options followed by various playlists. Based on your selections, Songza hands you a playlist which you can favorite for later if it’s your style. (I have… “Drop A Beat Workout” is perfect for running at the COREC.)

music

Music: If you don’t like leaving your music (I understand… radios are the worst sometimes) this app is for you. Guess what! It should already be on your phone. Upload music from a computer, buy it from a music store, or download it from the internet and this is where you can listen to those beautiful songs you selected. It allows you to make playlists, repeat your favorite songs as much as you want, and there are NO COMMERCIALS.

Last, but most certainly not least…

beats

Beats Music: Though I have yet to personally experience this app, a trusted source informs me that it is well worth the price. Why you ask? Have you ever felt like you didn’t know what you wanted to listen to? Say you “feel like you need some positive vibes.” Type a sentence into The Sentence feature and Beats Music listens and responds, making a playlist catering to your sentence. Pretty cool, huh?

If you don’t trust my opinion, like to figure things out on your own, etc. Itunes App Store has a database of Popular Music Apps that you can search through to investigate. The apps listed aren’t specific to Apple products. Be warned, the list is extremely vast. Digital Trends also has a nice list of the Best Music Apps for Your Smartphone that offers more information.

I think I’ll download Beats Music today and give it a try. What music app are you going to be listening to?

Leave a Reply

