Beats for Your Brain.

Did you know that some people believe that different kinds of music can make them smarter, work harder, and focus on a task better?  Why do parents play classic music, such as Mozart, for their infants? Why do certain songs “kill the mood” or liven up the party?

Many studies have been conducted, many books have been written, and many articles have been published (CNN & Huff Post each have great articles on the subject) in the hopes of understanding the effect listening to music/sounds has on a person’s brain. Though no definite answer has been unearthed, there are many connections that have been made.

Personally, I believe music has a major effect on my mood, it helps me sleep more sound, and can give me some much-needed energy on those dreary Monday mornings.

Musical  Minds, a study done by Neurologist Oliver Sacks, deals with the brain while listening to music. I find this study very interesting and I’m hoping you will too. It gives us a view of what takes place when we listen to music, in this case, classical music. I also find Sachs views interesting in a Q&A he did with random participants.

Interesting study, right? But it’s more than just that. When I listen to different songs, different genres, I feel as if they define me, show a part of me that I can’t express without it. My mood predicts what I listen to that day, but if my mood changes, so does my playlist. Even my actions can be a factor in what music I listen to.. (work, studying, writing a blog, taking a shower.)

“Without music, life would be a mistake.” -Friedrich Nietzsche

Do you know these 8 Surprising Ways Music Affects the Brain:

1. Happy/sad music affects how we see neutral faces

2. Ambient noise can improve creativity

3. Our music choices can predict our personality

4. Music can significantly distract us while driving (contrary to common belief)

5. Music training can significantly improve our motor and reasoning skills

6. Classical music can improve visual attention

7. One-sided phone calls are more distracting than normal conversations

8. Music helps us exercise

Music really does have a large impact in our lives, you just need to listen. 

Leave a Reply

